Africa · Ethiopia · Food · People · Ramdom

Enrico

If you live in Ethiopia, visited Ethiopia or maybe even just heard about great pastries in Ethiopia, you’ve definitely heard of Enrico.

Enrico has been around for years making its way into every Ethiopian’s heart.

I remember back when they used to serve ice cream there; they had the best vanilla and chocolate ice cream. (Those were the only 2 flavors they had too) My dad would take like a huge bowl and bring a gallon or something. Ahhh, those were the really, really good old days. (Reminiscing…) I used to go directly to Katherina, awesome lady who used to work there, (I think she was the owner’s daughter? Not sure about that.) but she used to give me free ice cream!! I loved her. She passed away when I was in America. (RIP)

Enrico doesn’t have ice cream anymore. They said the machine is out of order and I don’t think they’re ever going to fix it, since it’s been out of order for the past 10 years. Of course, no one asks for ice cream anymore, except for me. I ask everytime I go.  🙂

Enrico is known for their ever so famous millifoni, boxegna and other very tasty pastry. (Sorry, I don’t know if the spellings are correct, but it sounds exactly how it’s spelled.)

For those of you who don’t know where it is, just go to piazza and ask anyone where Enrico is and they will take you there.

Recently, Zoma Magazine covered a story about the best cake in Ethiopia, featuring the owner of the pastry. To read more about it, check out the awesome mag.  😉

Sadly though, a few days/week after that interview, she passed away. (RIP)

Till today, the pastry is strong and going. Whenever new batch of cakes come out, they always get sold out with in the next 20 minutes, till this day.

I would like to take a moment and honor my favorite pastry ever, Enrico. Check out the pictures. 🙂

My 1st birthday!! see the cake?
My 10th birthday
this weekend, my niece & nephew's bday
Yummy, right?
ENRICO!

7 thoughts on “Enrico

  1. this is great! The pictures are priceless. I love this strong connection with the pasty. Of course, I have tasted the cake from enrico. I don’t even remember when.

    Thanks! awesomely written!!!

  2. I Love enrico. it was the best boxegna i ever had to this day.
    BTW The Ethiopian blog logo looks like a Pokemon ball. lol

Leave a comment