Ethiopia · Food · People · Travel

The Biggest Trip to Hawassa (pt. 1)

There is something about traveling outside of Addis that just makes you say, “Ahhhhh…” with relief. As a young kid, the only places I’ve ever been to were, Harar, Dire Dawa, or Sodere. Recently though, I’ve been to so many places that I could blog about, but I didn’t really start writing then. Hehe.

Ok. Hawassa.

I had no prior plans of going there. I never thought I’d actually go there, for that matter. My sister, (temporary guardian, until further notice) said to me, “Sorry sis, I’m not taking you to this trip. It’s strictly family oriented.” Damn.

She was going with her kids, husband and his 11 brothers and sisters. No. They are not just 13 brothers and sisters. They are actually 16. Yes. 16. 3 of them couldn’t make it for one reason or another. Anyways, All these 12 people going were going with their wives or husbands and a minimum of 2 kids each. Talk about a full house.

So I didn’t object. I wouldn’t be caught dead babysitting about 20 little kids, you kidding?

When my sister found out (at the last minute) that there would be a couple of other “extras” coming on the trip, she told me to get packing. I did not hesitate.

We all met up at my brother-in-law’s parents’ house and there a bus stood outside the door. Wow, this is going to be one hell of a trip.

I’m not going to lie to you. 42 people were going on this trip. All family. (Well, 4 of us were extras but still.)

So we hit the road to Hawassa. (I really don’t know why it’s spelt like that; I always thought it was just Awassa. Hmm)

Ethiopia is very rich. Whoever said, “Ethiopia grew,” was wrong. Not even close. You don’t even have to go out of Addis that much to see huge empty spaces. Everyone just wants to stay in one city, Addis Ababa. We just need to get out a little bit to see more majestic places. No, Ethiopia didn’t really grow; Addis Ababa did, not Ethiopia. However, we have a huge potential to be a great country.

So we drove in this huge bus, singing, clapping, and making a lot of noise. It was a really fun ride. It wasn’t until we got to Zeway (or something) that the fun really began. We stopped for lunch at this OK restaurant. We all sat in a huge circle and prepared for the meal that was to come. We had no idea how we were going to eat. All 42 of us.

Suddenly, the waiter comes with a plate of Tibs and Shero. “Hulet Tibs, Hulet Shero!” He yelled out and put in on an empty table. Everyone got up at once and circles around the food and dug in. Seconds later, another plate with the same food was put on the table next to it, and another circle formed around it. As the food on one plate started to finish, people would just leave that circle and “on to the next one.” Shouldn’t you eat food sitting down? No, not here. It didn’t take 10 minutes for about, 6 or 7 plates to be finished with everyone’s stomach stuffed. Another 10 minutes later, we were back on the road, again to Hawassa!

 

…To be Continued…

Leave a Reply

