Love · Men · People · Short Story

Attraction (Short [man] Story)

The first time I laid eyes on Ess was at my cousin Dave’s, party on New Year’s Eve. He introduced to me to her and slowly whispered, “This girl would have been perfect for you, man!” Yes, Would Have. 

Ess was engaged. Had been for the past 2 years. Apparently. Who gets engaged this early in their life anyways? Her fiancé stood by her side, holding her hand firmly. I can tell. She would look so much better with me.

I stood across the room from the couple and studied them for a while as I started to daydream about me and her.

She wore a simple black dress which made her look mysterious. He wore a brown suit. BROWN. Damn, in my all black suit, I could pass for Bond. James Bond. Ha. She would look so much better with me.

She’s not wearing high heels; probably because she didn’t want to be taller than him. With my height, she couldn’t catch up to me if she tried. She would definitely look so much better with me.

But I let go of the envy; it’s not going to get me anywhere. She’s engaged for goodness sakes! I don’t stand a chance. Oh well… on to the next woman.

That’s what I thought, The first day I met her.

I read a lot. A few weeks after new year’s, I got my hands on a certain book that taught about the power of attraction. I was really drawn into the whole facts or whatever you want to call them. I guess I thought about Ess that day. I wonder how she was doing…

The next day, I went to the pharmacy to get some pain killers and guess who I saw? Yes. Ess! Hey, that rhymes. 

“Hey you! How’s it going? How’s Dave?” She asked enthusiastically.

“Hey Ess! Dave’s great, I think. All is well with me though; how are you?”

“I’m good, I’m good. You know, same ol’ routine.”

“Yea? How’s the fiancé? Set a date for the wedding yet?”

“Well…” She hesitated for a second, “We’re not really together anymore…”

I felt a sudden rush as I analyzed those last words she said to me. It was as if the universe knew what I wanted and shifting things to make them work out. I swear, I thought they broke up for me!

At that point, I didn’t even know Ess well. I got her number and day by day, we’ve started to communicate. I don’t know where it’s going but we’ll see. I will definitely let you know. 

5 thoughts on “Attraction (Short [man] Story)

Leave a Reply

